Just over a week!

My surgery is scheduled for just over a week now. Like a week and a half. Wow. Time has flown by.

I’m worried about losing my hair. I’m worried it won’t work. I’m anxious that it will. I’m excited that I might get off medicine. I’m hopeful I will get rid of the sleep apnea. I can only imagine not taking all the medicine that I do now, because my blood pressure and thyroid has been resolved.

I had my pre op physical yesterday. My doctor looked at my ankles/calves, that are huge because they retain fluids, and she said ‘wouldn’t it be great if this got resolved?’ She is so excited for me. She knows this is the best thing for me. I know it is as well. I’m ready.

I asked my six year old if she was nervous for me to have surgery. She said no, it’s just part of your diet right? I explained that they will cut me open for surgery. Then she said ‘well NOW I’m nervous.’ But she is ready to help mom get better.

I went to the eye dr yesterday and ended up talking to one of the assistants there about the surgery. She said her dad was going to do it but gave up when they wanted him to do 6 months of supervised diet. Well, that’s what the insurance companies want. They want to know you are committed to a huge change. If you can’t do six months, how can you do the rest of your life? If you think this is a quick fix, this isn’t for you. If you think the hardest part is the surgery, this isn’t for you.

It’s a huge change. A massive commitment. I’ve researched. I’ve read books. I’ve joined web groups. I’ve followed blogs. I’ve been making myself drink 64-80 ounces of water a day for over a month. I haven’t had pop or booze in like 2 months. I’ve already changed the way I’m viewing food. I’m already prepping myself for moving more and eating less.

I am mentally prepared for this. Now let’s tackle the physical part. I’m going all in.

One thought on “Just over a week!

  1. Isn’t it exciting!? I’m so happy for you and happy to hear the very positive and encouraging out look you have regarding the surgery. No, it is not an easy thing to go through and remembering that will help you be successful. What I hope most for you is that the surgery and recovering go easy on you and you continue to anticipate all the amazing health benefits you will have from this.

    As for losing your hair, keep in mind that it will happen whether you want it to or not. There’s nothing you can do about it. In your multivitamin you will take, there’s biotin in there, you can take extra if you want, but what that will do is help your hair grow back once it’s done falling out. Most people report that their hair grows back thicker after the weightloss has slowed and your body starts putting energy into that again. I personally was happy for hair loss because I have WAY too much of it and am worried it will come back thicker.

    And excuse me for replying in such a long format, but I was right there with you. I was sure it wasn’t going to work for me. I was sure that I would just lose a little and plateau. Well, two months later and 42 lbs lighter and I can tell you, there’s no way in hell this can’t work unless you sabotage it yourself (and I’ve known people to do that.)

    Lots of prayers and support coming your way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

