Roadblock and Xmas dinner

So this is going to be a little graphic, but hang in there.

Last week I was feeling great! On Monday I started feeling out of sorts. I could tell I need to poo and started doing the stool softener. I called the nurse Tuesday morning and we looked at my journal to realize I hadn’t had a bowel movement since Wed of the previous week. So she wanted me to take the stool softeners, the benefiber and add in laxatives. By Tuesday night the nurse called me and nothing had happened. I was getting stomach cramps. They wanted me to stop laxatives and do Milk of Magnsia. Tuesday night I was in so much pain I would just cry on the toilet.

Basically, everything was ready to move, but I had a big ole boulder that would not soften that had to push it’s way thru first. And I could tell it was going to be more pain than I could handle. The softener could get to everything else, but not that boulder. It got to the point where my body would start to spasm and push stuff out, and I would start to shake and begin to throw up. Now they are concerned with blockage.

Wednesday morning was the worst. At this point I didn’t eat much at all Tuesday, and was way behind on Protein and water. But nothing was going in until stuff could come out! After many uncomfortable hours on the toilet with firey liquid coming out I was ready to call it quits. I had soiled everything around me. The term explosive diarrhea is one I would use. When the boulder finally came out, it pretty much ripped my apart. There was a lot of blood and too much pain to imagine.

I refuse to let my body go thru this again. Wednesday they just wanted me to get water in. My body had been thru so much, they told me to NOT go to work and rest. I was put back on my spasm/nauseau medicine from surgery. This was Christmas Eve. I had to call my boss on Christmas Eve and explain I couldn’t physically leave my house. My body would shake anytime I was standing up. It was awful.

I just didn’t realize I had gone that long without a bowel movement!! Had I paid closer attention, I would have started the constipation program much earlier. So I will not let this happen again. It was awful.

I did manage to get  a little food in my on Christmas. I took come pictures of my dinner. Served on a small plate, you will see the crayon to show the size of my piece of ham.

xmas dinner 1xmas dinner 2xmas dinner 3

And the last photo is what I had left. Protein first!  Needless to say it has been a rough couple of days, but there hasn’t been temptations for sweets! LOL

One thought on “Roadblock and Xmas dinner

  1. Oh, honey, I’m so sorry that happened! The doc told me the best for me is to keep fluid in me all the time and so that’s what I try to do. I’ve been lucky not to have that problem, but at least you know what not to do next time!

    I hope you’re feeling better and that your Christmas was good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

