I’m finally back at work

I have been out sick from work from over a week. Today is my first day back and I’m still weak. But I’m alive. I got hit with Influenza, that turned to pneumonia. I have never felt so sick in my life.

I will never underestimate the power of either of these illnesses to bring a person to their knees. I lost 12 pounds in one week. I couldn’t eat. I couldn’t get enough fluids. Forget protein goals. I was trying to get water in my system! On Monday I ended up in the hospital for IV fluids and a vitamin pack to get my system to function. I am finally eating food and drinking water on a more regular basis. But I never want to feel like that again.

So my eating is totally off for the moment. But I am wearing a shirt that hasn’t fit for like 6 years. And many people today have said I’m wasting away. I feel like it after being so sick.

2 thoughts on “I’m finally back at work

  1. OMG. You poor girl. Is your daughter fine? Little ones can get very sick with the flu too. I’m glad you are on the mend. It makes you wonder if the stress of surgery made you more susceptible. Yikes. Yeah for a new size despite the rough road to get there. Tracey

    Like

  2. Rhi is all good! She still has a little cough from when she had pneumonia. I do think I was more susceptible due to surgery. But I’m really only eating like 400 calories a day right now. I feel my stomach has shrunk even more! And getting water in is very difficult. I’m at about 50% right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

