First the dress, now the ring.

Last week I got my wedding dress on. Then Friday night I decided to try my wedding ring. I haven’t worn it since I got pregnant 7 and a half years ago. Damn fat fingers.

ring

It fits. It’s been so long I put it on the wrong hand. Fat fingers be gone!!

On this blog I had mentioned a friendship that had gone south after my surgery. I reached out to this person YET again and she was totally all about chatting about her life. But wanted nothing to do with my journey and my success. We planned to meet up several times on Saturday. First I invited her to a craft fair and she was all ready but then I heard nothing. Hours later she sent a text apologizing as she spent the day in bed and ‘fell asleep’. Fine

I called her later and said I was meeting up with a mutual friend at a sushi bar for drinks and food. (No drinks for me and 3 pieces of sushi—but it was good to catch up.) She was going to join us. We stayed for 3 hours. She never showed up.

The next morning she texted me and said she had to take care of something and just couldn’t get there in time. Uh huh. This is the pattern since August. There comes a point where I am putting much more into this relationship than I am getting out of it. I think it’s time to just let it go.

But the friend I did meet up with was amazing. He hadn’t seen me since about a month after surgery and has been very supportive since the beginning, keeping in touch and sending me messages constantly. I also saw some other friends that commented on my success. It was a nice boost.

I started this journey at 325. I got to 300 for surgery. I’m three months out and this morning I weighed in at 242. My hope is to get under 200. But I already feel the success. If I stay where I am, and have the energy I do now….well I will count this as a win. I’ve never been in it for a certain weight, or a certain size clothes. It was for my health.

I have a weight loss support group on Saturday, and they are starting a team for a 5k run/walk. I’m doing it. I’m signing up. Now that I’ve written it down, it will happen. Gotta have those goals!

3 thoughts on “First the dress, now the ring.

  1. Sounds like you need to let go of that friend. Her loss! You are doing awesome with weight loss! I am hoping to get my sleeve surgery in April. Got a lap band 5 years ago, but I’ve only kept off 20 lbs. I’d be happy to be doing half as good as you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

